All Mozart Summer Concert

On the 30th May, we held a Summer Concert in the Meeting House at Sussex University. The sun was setting and the last remaining light swept through the room in a vast array of stained glass colours. The beauty of the lighting, however, was lost on performers who attempted to pick out the black dots of notes from a page which was continuously changing colour.

Mozart was the theme of the night, and it began with a rendition of the Cosi Fan Tutti Overture. This was followed by the Sinfonia Concertante for Four Winds in Eb Major, which was the true highlight of the evening due to the magnificent playing of our four soloists: Barbara Ashby (Oboe), Margaret Phillips (Clarinet), Hilary Ougham (Bassoon) and Zoe Hurlock (Horn). We are incredibly grateful for all their hard work, and would be thrilled to have the opportunity to work with them again in the future.

The evening ended with a performance of Symphony no. 41, “Jupiter”, and, with the sun now set, we all headed to East Slope bar for our final drink together of the academic year.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s